Guide to ICT policy in IST-Africa partner countries

Guide to ICT policy in IST-Africa partner countries

National ICT policies in member countries of the IST-Africa Initiative

This guide looks at the current status of National ICT policies in each of the current IST-Africa Initiative partner countries.  It identifies what has been achieved to date and provides insight into what implementation challenges remain.  Specifically, the report reflects analysis of existing National ICT plicies for: Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Kenya, Lesotho, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania and Uganda. 

While the individual circumstances of each profiled IST-Africa Partner Country vary (both in terms of available human and financial resources, level of infrastructural development, skills capacity etc), there are clearly considerable overlap of issues being addressed by individual countries. In many cases, similar strategies are being employed. The best of these stands up to comparison with the most sophisticated developed countries. Each ICT Policy presented in this report was agreed to be fit for purpose in its home country, at the time it was finalised.

  1. How good is this research?

    Assessing the quality of research can be a tricky business. This blog from our editor offers some tools and tips.