Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Southern African Development Community (SADC, formerly SADCC, Southern African Development Coordination Conference) aims to create a 130 million-person southern African common market. This economic community is dedicated to the ideals of free trade, free movement of people, a single currency, democracy, and respect for human rights. The SADC Treaty aims to build a community of nations which together are politically and economically strong to compete in the world marketplace. Through regional cooperation and integration, the Community aims to provide balanced economic growth and development, political stability and security, for all its member States.

SADC's 12 member nations are: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Each member State has the responsibility of co-ordinating a sector or sectors on behalf of the others. Botswana is specifically responsible for Agricultural Research, Livestock Production and Animal Disease Control. Demining is one of SADC's Sectoral Projects

SADC publishes an SADC Annual Report and the Secretariat hosts a Library with a specialised collection that supports and facilitates research and consultancy activities undertaken by Southern African Development Community

The main website provides Sectoral Briefs and a Sectoral Responsibilities Chart and a Calendar of Events in the region, Country Profiles of member countries, and links to Government, business and news resources on Africa

Related SADC site include:

(a) SADC Trade, Industry and Investment Review site (

(b) SADC food security site

(c) SADC Mining Programme

Latest documents from Southern African Development Community